sing it down songs to close the school of the americas cover
cover of the out-of-print cd "sing it down:
songs to close the school of the americas"

Sing It Down:

Songs To Close the School Of the Americas

A Collaborative CD by Colleen Kattau & Jolie Christine Rickman

The protest song is alive and well in Syracuse.
The Syracuse New Times

colleen kattau singing at the annual school of the americas protest
Colleen Kattau at the annual SOA protest in Fort Benning, GA

jolie rickman singing at the annual school of the americas protest
Jolie Rickman performing from Sing It Down with Colleen at the same SOA protest in Fort Benning, GA

Sing it Down is a collection of upbeat original and traditional folk songs dedicated to the closure of the US Army's School of the Americas in Fort Benning, Georgia. The movement to close the SOA is receiving increasing bi-partisan support in the U.S. Congress due to public outcry regarding the high percentage of SOA graduates who have been connected to human rights abuses. This cd is a collaboration between Jolie and folk singer/songwriter Colleen Kattau. Joined by SOA Watch activists Ann Tiffany and Ed Kinane, they toured Sing It Down throughout the Northeast, and have played songs from the album at the 1998 SOA Watch national rally in Washington, D.C. and national demo at Ft. Benning, GA.

Track List

  • 1. Intro: Excerpt from Archbishop Oscar Romero 3/24/80
  • 2. Romero (3:26)
  • 3. What Shall We Do With the School of Torture?
  • 4. El Mozote
  • 5. SOA Fight Song
  • 6. Borderlines
  • 7. Put It In the Ground
  • 8. Wild Over Me
  • 9. Se necesita Muchacha
  • 10. Waldorf Astoria
  • 11. Itsy Bitsy

This cd is currently out of print and will eventually be available for digital download.
Please check back.

Sing It Down ©1998; ©1999.

Jolie Christine Rickman, acoustic guitar, vocals; Colleen Kattau, acoustic guitar, vocals; with vocal guests Gabe Barry-Caufield, Joie Perry & Scott Davis (track #5); live recording with Cafe Vocal Chorus (tracks #8, 9); and Dave Pandori, drums); Russel Jackson, bass; & Jim Deutch, mandolin (track #4). Recorded by Will Russell @ Electric Wilburland Studio, Newfield, NY 1998, with additional tracks.